Can I take the ServSafe® Food Protection Manager and exam online?
Yes, you can take the course and exam online, however, you must have a certified proctor/ instructor administer the exam to you (not the course). Once you complete the online course, contact the CRA for a list of proctors in your area.
If my certificate is already expired, is there a grace period between now and when I complete and pass the exam again?
No, there is not. We recommend you schedule your exam before your certification expires.
How soon will I receive my results after taking the ServSafe Food Protection Manager class and exam?
You will receive an email with your results within 10 business days. You will then be able to print your pdf certificate. If you do not receive an email with your score, contact Macy Fitch firstname.lastname@example.org
How long is my ServSafe® Food Protection Manager Certificate good for?
California recognizes the ServSafe® certification as valid for five years. However, some company policies will only recognize the certification as valid for three years. We recommend you renew your exam before your certification expires.
Can I re-test of I do not pass the exam?
Yes, may take the examination twice within a thirty-day period, if you failed the first attempt. If a third attempt is required, you must wait at least sixty days from their last attempt. The re-test fee is $65 though the CRA.
If I already have the 5th edition textbook, do I need to buy the updated 6th edition?
Yes, the questions on the exam are based off the updated information from the 6th edition textbook.
How do I know if I need the ServSafe® Food Handler Card or the ServSafe Food Protection Manager Certificate?
Everyone else handling food in the facility must obtain a Food Handler card. California law requires every foodservice establishment to have at least one employee who holds Food Protection Manager Certification.
Who needs a ServSafe® Food Handler training?
A person who is involved in the preparation, storage or service of food in a food facility. This includes most restaurant employees, such as those holding the positions of, but not limited to: wait staff, chefs, head cooks, cooks, bussers, bartenders, hosts and hostesses who handle food and supervisory personnel, such as the general manager or managers. Employees with a valid manager’s food safety certification are compliant with the California Food Handler Card law. Visit calrest.org/foodhandler for more information.
When do my employees need to be trained?
Employees need to have their Food Handler Card in hand 30 days after hire.