ServSafe® California Food Handler training program
A California Food Handler Card is required by law for most restaurant workers. The ServSafe California Food Handler Program is a highly interactive online course and test that covers critical food safety basics.
Contact firstname.lastname@example.org to schedule an in-house food handler training.
The ServSafe California Food Handler Program training and test meets the requirements of SB 602, California’s food safety law. Food handlers must have a California Food Handler Card on file with their employer within 30 days of hire. To secure a card, food handlers must complete the training and pass the exam with a score of 70 percent or better.
ServSafe offers both online and classroom-style training covering five key areas:
- basic food safety
- personal hygiene
- cross-contamination and allergens
- time and temperature
- cleaning and sanitation.
A short video about ServSafe from the National Restaurant Association:
The ServSafe California Food Handler Program includes an interactive course and 40-question test that covers critical food safety information and techniques. The training and test is $15 and takes approximately 60 minutes to 90 minutes to complete. The program is offered in both English and Spanish, with other languages in development. Food handlers will have to complete a registration process in English to access the course. Take the test now.
A qualified ServSafe food handler instructor will provide in-house training culminating with the exam. Managers and shift-leaders can easily register as an instructor with ServSafe to administer the food handler training and test to employees. For more information, go online at servsafe.com/foodhandler.
Private training pricing
A qualified instructor comes to your establishment with all the necessary equipment and training materials. The instructor will lead a 90-minute training followed by a written exam. Attendees must pass with a score of 70 percent or better.
Private Training (training costs, no product)
Training and exam will last two hours to two-and-a-half hours.
|Single Training||Member Pricing||Non-Member Pricing|
|Maximum 100 employees. For more than 50 attendees, a location to provide additional instructor to aide in administration of the assessment at the end of class||$700||$950|
|Two same-day trainings qualify for a 5% discount (maximum one-hour break between sessions)||Member Pricing per training||Non-Member Pricing per training|
|Maximum 50 employees||$380||$522.50|
|Maximum 100 employees. For more than 50 attendees, a location to provide additional instructor to aide in administration of the assessment at the end of class.||$5.70 per person after first 50||$7.60 per person after first 50|
|Three same-day trainings qualify for a 10% discount (maximum one-hour breaks between sessions)||Member Pricing per training||Non-Member Pricing per training|
|Maximum 50 employees||$360||$495.00|
|Maximum 100 employees. For more than 50 attendees, a location to provide additional instructor to aide in administration of the assessment at the end of class.||$5.40 per person after first 50||$7.20 per person after first 50|
Pricing includes cost of training, but not products. Training is a maximum of 2 1/2 hours. Each attendee will need a scantron to take the assessment. The California Restaurant Association suggests that each attendee have a Food Handler Guide and Exam. The price to purchase these products as part of the CRA hosted training is an additional $11 per person for scantron answer sheets and $16 per person for food handler guides and exams.
The CRA highly recommends that companies purchase food handler guides and exams directly from the National Restaurant Association Solutions. Discounts are available for orders of 300 or more guides. Call 866.901.7778 to place an order.