A California Food Handler Card is required by law for most restaurant workers. The ServSafe California Food Handler Program is a highly interactive online course and test that covers critical food safety basics.
This training and test meets the requirements of SB 602, California’s food safety law. Food handlers must have a California Food Handler Card on file with their employer within 30 days of hire. To secure a card, food handlers must complete the training and pass the exam with a score of 75 percent or better.
ServSafe offers both online and classroom-style training covering five key areas:
basic food safety
cross-contamination and allergens
time and temperature
cleaning and sanitation.
The ServSafe California Food Handler Program includes an interactive course and 40-question test that covers critical food safety information and techniques. The training and test is $15 and takes approximately 60 minutes to 90 minutes to complete. The program is offered in both English and Spanish, with other languages in development. Food handlers will have to complete a registration process in English to access the course. Take the test now.
A qualified ServSafe food handler instructor comes to your establishment with all the necessary equipment and training materials. The instructor will lead a 90-minute training followed by a written exam. Attendees must pass with a score of 75 percent or better.
PRIVATE TRAINING (TRAINING COSTS, NO PRODUCT)
Training and exam will last two hours to two-and-a-half hours.
The private training costs above do not include pricing for materials (California Food Handler Guide and California Food Handler Scantron.) An additional fee of $11.00 for Scantron answer sheets and $16.00 for Food Handler Guides per registrant can be applied for materials when setting up a private training.
Contact Macy Fitch(Product Sales + Training) to set up private training.
Find quick answers to your questions about the CRA and navigating calrest.org.